Skip to content

Breakfast Goodness

May 29, 2010

Seattle has been a stereotype of itself this past week:  dark grey skies, steady drizzle, windy and chilly.  The first weekend free to work in the garden…and the Northwest is not cooperating.  I attempted to combat that today by making three different breakfast items–which made the kitchen smell fabulous, and provided some warmth to this late-autumn-ish weather.  (I also had to crank “You Can Call Me Al” to ward off the cold-spring blues.)

I made some baked French toast for our actual breakfast, which was quite good and inspired me to never fry French toast in a skillet again (so much easier and less messy to bake).  Then I made granola, mostly from Orangette’s recipe with a few tweaks.  The aroma of oats and ginger-cinnamon baking together was fabulous, as was the end result–though I’m going to go for more clumpage next time, so I’ll post that recipe later.

The winner of the day was a double batch of oatmeal applesauce muffins with almonds and dried fruit.  I’m bringing some later to neighbors who just had a baby, and several of ours have disappeared already.  I don’t remember where I got the original recipe–somewhere online–but I’ve tweaked it enough to be able to call it mine, I think. 

Almond Applesauce Oat Muffins

  • 1 1/2 cups quick cooking oats
  • 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour (can also use all-purpose)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • ¾ tsp. salt
  • 2 Tbsp. flaxseeds
  • 1/3 cup milk  (regular, rice, or soy)
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 cup applesauce
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 egg white
  • ¾ tsp. almond or vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup chopped toasted almonds
  • 1/3 cup dried fruit of choice (apricots, berries, etc.)

 1.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2.  Mix dry ingredients (oats through flax seeds) in a large bowl.  Mix wet ingredients (milk through almond extract) in a medium bowl.  Make a well in the center of dry ingredients and pour wet ingredients in.  Stir until just combined.  Stir in almonds and dried fruit of choice (I used dried apricots for half, and dried blueberries for half–both unsweetened and reconstituted in boiling water).

3.  Fill muffin cups.  Bake for 17-20 minutes, or until golden brown and a tester inserted comes out clean.

Makes 12 muffins.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 6:10 pm

    Those muffins sound yummy. 🙂 You may already know this trick, but for juicier fruit pieces in muffins (or any recipe, actually) soak the dried fruit in some water before adding them to the batter. Very tasty!!

    • June 8, 2010 3:53 am

      I did indeed soak the apricots and blueberries in boiling water for about 30 minutes–mostly because I bought unsulfured and unsweetened dried fruit, which makes their texture less appealing than the sweetened and sulfured kind. Good stuff!

  2. Ellen permalink
    May 31, 2010 10:23 pm

    A picture of you “cranking” the music popped into my head and I smiled to myself. Also love the Michelle-esque word choice of clumpage. I love reading your blog and am definitely going to try some of your recipes, especially in my own kitchen junior year!!

Leave a Reply

