Skip to content

Shifting Focus: Maple Leaf Kitchen and the Triplets…

February 28, 2011

I thought it would be fun to share this journey of triplet parenthood on my cooking blog, because I’ve been eating so much in the past few months that they seem naturally to go together.  (Seriously, I wake up ravenously hungry in the middle of the night.)

Here’s the 21-week “bump” picture–more like a beachball than a bump:

As my colleagues love to remind me, I look bigger daily.  Which leads me to some of the highlights of this experience.  Sure, the ultrasound appointments take forever, and my back is sore, but since I will not do this again, I’m trying to focus on the positives:

  • eating as much high protein, full-fat food as I can (more peanut-butter-caramel-chocolate ice cream?)
  • feeling the babies moving around.  Very cool until they get stronger and more up into my ribs.
  • thinking of all the great name combinations for triplets:  Jack, Janet, and Chrissy; Peter, Paula, and Mary; Rosemary, Sage, and Herb; Larry, Maureen, and Curly…
  • all the support from our fabulous family and friends!

We are so excited and will try to post updates more often than every few months.  In the meantime,  I don’t want to totally give up the cooking aspect of the blog, even though I can hear all you parents thinking, “She’s going to have time for cooking??”

I made this up last night to go on our lamb burgers, and we ate the rest with crackers–no leftovers here.  Next time I might try it with a clove of garlic.

Cucumber-Feta Spread

adapted from Cooking Light

  • 3/4 cup crumbled feta
  • 1/3 cup yogurt
  • 1 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  • about 7-8 inches of cucumber, peeled, seeded, and chopped
  • 1/2 tsp. dried dill
  • 1/4 cup chopped red onion
  1. Mash feta, yogurt, lemon juice, and pepper together in a bowl.
  2. Stir in rest of ingredients.  Add more of varying ingredients to alter consistency (maybe more yogurt for thinner spread).  Eat with fresh veggies, or crackers, or pita crisps, or on lamb.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. amy clayton permalink
    March 1, 2011 6:32 am

    whoa – triplets!! congratulations! we just had our first baby and I can’t imagine more then one of her running circles around me. That’s wonderful news for you and Alan.

    Best,
    Amy & Aaron

  2. February 28, 2011 10:42 pm

    I love the combined blog idea! You will need to feed the triplets, too… And oh my goodness you have grown!! 🙂 You look amazing. So excited to get more updates soon. 🙂

  3. February 28, 2011 8:08 pm

    I didn’t know you had a food blog! It’ll be great to look through your archives!

    You look beautiful by the way…. I’ll be checking in for progress on your “buns in the oven.” (Too on the nose?)

    ~Allegra

Leave a Reply

