Skip to content

“Look mommy–that lady’s gonna have a baby!”

March 20, 2011

Updated ultrasound pics will have to wait until next week–we had about 3 hours of ultrasounds last Wednesday, but the babies were not so cooperative for their close-ups.  The echocardiogram took a lot longer than expected because they were trying to measure fetal heart chambers the size of lentils, and the babies were acting like it was Disco Inferno.  Hey moms–is a lot of activity in utero any sign of lots of activity when they’re, say, toddlers?  If so, I need to get some more running shoes.

So far, upsides of being this pregnant:  Getting my students to pick up things from the floor (reminds me of Grampy explaining why he couldn’t play on the floor with the youngest grandkids–because he’d never get up again).  Making students carry / schlep things for me.  Alan making me breakfast. =)

Downsides:  people staring at me–in the hallways at school, in the aisles at church (the quote above is from a small child this morning after Communion), etc.  Alan told me to get used to it, as when we actually have triplets, we’ll probably get more stares.  Also, not being able to do as much as I’m used to doing.  Alan has masked and painted the entire nursery himself and wouldn’t let me help.  He also won’t let me do a number of other chores, including anything that involves bending over.  I do appreciate it, and I know why it’s probably a good thing, but I am (as you all know) an independent and stubborn person who hates having other people do things for me. 

Life lesson from the universe:  get used to it, as I will need to rely on others a lot more in the next few months.

In addition to Alan, I have a lot of Northwest “moms” telling me to take it easy–ironically, several of them named Kathy.  Our librarian assistant at school, our neighbor two doors down (also a labor-and-delivery nurse), the front office secretary, and on…it’s comforting to have that kind of support network here, when my mom (Kathy) is on the other side of the country.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Penny Pension permalink
    April 2, 2011 7:02 am

    Thanks, Michelle, for sharing your journey to motherhood. Great pictures of you and the trips. Keep up the good work and enjoy all the help.
    Love,
    Penny

  2. March 28, 2011 8:38 pm

    Your picture of Calli with the lobster is hilarious!
    So glad you are letting people help you. 🙂 yes, it’s a great lesson from the universe. If I were there I’d be shlepping/carrying/cooking/doing whatever I could to help you too. Wish I were closer. But I’m sending love and light from here. 🙂 Can you feel it? 😉 Can’t wait to see you soon!!!

  3. March 26, 2011 9:38 am

    Hi Michelle! You look great. I have 9 weeks to go! It doesn’t feel too far away. I loved reading your update. I can’t imagine what it must feel like to have 3 little ones moving around and kicking! Just one kicking makes falling asleep sometimes difficult. -AJ

  4. Mary Belinsky permalink
    March 20, 2011 6:30 pm

    You look wonderful Michelle! How many weeks along are you?

Leave a Reply

