Skip to content

Home again, home again (temporarily)

April 19, 2011

Well.  This past week has been one crazy ride, and it’s only the beginning of the beginning.

As many of you know already,  Alan and I went for our routine ultrasounds and check-up last Wednesday, where they found the babies were happy and healthy, but my system was in pre-term labor.  So they brought a wheelchair and Alan and I had the strange realization that neither of us knew when I would be home again.

To make my hospital-stay-story short:  they put me on an intense anti-contraction IV line of magnesium sulfate for the first 24 hours, which did slow the contractions, and then gave me a pill that does the same thing but with fewer side effects, Nifedipine, which I am taking for the duration of the pregnancy.  They monitored contractions and fetal heart rate twice a day, all of which continued to show the babies to be thriving, thank God!  The day after the IV came out, my head cold turned into a nasty sinus infection that I tried to combat with my neti pot, steam, and ginger tea, but eventually gave in and started antibiotics yesterday.

On top of all that health excitement, my mom, and friends from California Maya and Liz had flown in for my baby shower on Sunday.  My friend Jen, the shower organizer, sent out a message about change of venue, and we had the shower in a family room at the hospital.  Jen, Maya, my mom, and Alan’s step-mom Barb did an amazing job making the new venue seem as cozy and welcoming as someone’s living room, and produced delicious food and favors too. =)  My mom has all the photos on her camera, so some may appear on a later post.

Yesterday I had another ultrasound to check on the pre-term labor symptoms, and they had receded enough to get me released.  Now I’m home on “strict bedrest”:  I can get out of bed to use the bathroom and take 1 shower per day, and otherwise should be relatively prone.  Even sitting up makes gravity do its work, which is antithetical to our goal of keeping the babies in utero as long as possible. 

So in the next few weeks, I’ll be reading a lot, watching some movies, posting more frequently to this blog (hopefully), and doing as many projects from bed as I can.  Even though my world has narrowed to my bedroom and bathroom, I am very happy to be in my own home and bed!  Callie is also happy to have me back, as she gets all the chin- and ear-scratching she wants.

Alan, of course, has been the best husband:  staying with me in the hospital on a very uncomfortable cot, coordinating the visitors we had this weekend, and now that I’m home, working from home so he can bring me food and check on me throughout the day. 

We both feel so blessed and grateful to have so many supportive family, friends, and neighbors who have offered meals, errands, baby clothes and gifts, and visits / phone calls.  You are all awesome!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Penny Pension permalink
    April 20, 2011 4:04 pm

    So glad to hear you’re all home and well. Ah, bedrest, enjoy it while you can. I’ve heard once they’re born there’ll be no rest for you. Sorry I couldn’t make the shower. Happy to hear it went well. Your dad posted pictures on facebook. You look wonderful, and Alan looks great holding up the baby clothes. Thanks for the blog.
    Penny

  2. April 19, 2011 5:29 pm

    I’m so glad to hear that you are home and that all is well. I am on vacation this week so feel free to give us a ring! Thinking of you and your growing bundle. Love, AJ

  3. Neal & BJ permalink
    April 19, 2011 5:05 pm

    We are so thankful y’all – all 5 of you – are home and doing well! Thanks for keeping us “in the loop” – we’re so excited about our soon-to-be . . . .hopefully not TOO soon . . . great nieces and nephew. Alan, you’re a super husband, and we know you’re going to be an amazing Dad. Michelle, take care, get lots of rest, and call, or e-mail anytime.

    Love y’all,
    Neal & BJ

Leave a Reply

