Skip to content

Random Tuesday Musings

May 10, 2011

Good things that have happened this week:

Mother’s Day!  Alan made me breakfast in bed on Sunday (well, that actually happens daily since I’ve been on bed rest) and a beautiful card that made me cry.  I received my first “Mother’s Day” cards in the mail…though part of me feels like I haven’t earned the “mommy cred” until sleep deprivation and crying (me or the babies) kick in!  Our friend’s 10-year-old son, Tomas, called to wish me happy mother’s day, which was so cute.  Still, so many more women act as mothers even if they’ve never given birth–there are many ways I have been mothered in my lifetime, and I am grateful to all those women who guided me on my journey.

Monday’s appointment went well, to the point where (and I don’t mean to brag already about my kids) the ultrasound person, the nurses, and other staff commented on how well the babies are doing.  Dr. Tran greeted me with:  “Hi…wow, you still have ankles!”  She told me that the clinic’s policy is to not let triplet pregnancies go beyond 36-37 weeks, which is so much more optimistic than what I had previously thought.  My friend Laurel just sent me a list of “laws” to meditate on, the first of which is the Law of Creation:  what we think helps create our reality.  So my goal is now not just to hang on as long as I can, but to mentally prepare for delivering at 36 weeks (and also to prove to the other skeptical doc that I can do it…the Ruth competitiveness and Nollet stubbornness do have their advantages!).

Alan has assembled pretty much all the nursery furniture, which looks great and is so close to being ready for babies to live there!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Katy permalink
    May 13, 2011 10:16 am

    Glad you had a good Mother’s Day, and, yes, you deserved it! Hope you have a wonderful May! 🙂

  2. Emily permalink
    May 10, 2011 6:21 pm

    You are definitely a mother! Your life has been seriously inconvenienced for the babies that are growing inside you, and whether you realize it or not, you already love those babies. And I suspect you have already lost some sleep on their account too.

  3. Neal & BJ permalink
    May 10, 2011 4:12 pm

    What a wonderful report you got from everybody! I think your “over-achieverness” – don’t think that’s a real word – may be working after all . . . . including prayer, meditation, wonderful neighbors and friends, and last but not least . . . an amazing husband! I’m so glad you had such a special Mother’s Day. This time next year there will be 3 little ones to wish you a “Happy Mother’s Day!” – or at least a Mother’s Day “toothless” grin! Love your blog and love you, Alan, and the Triplets of Frindellville!

    Ooma and Oompa

Leave a Reply

