Skip to content

The beginning of the end?

May 17, 2011

Warning:  some of this is not terribly interesting.

Alan has had a bad cold since Saturday, which has nearly knocked him out of commission.  So yesterday for my appointment (which had the ultrasound scheduled at 10:30 and the ob appointment at 1:50–so much for efficiency), I got a ride to the doc’s office, and between appointments, walked to the Starbucks on the corner.  It was not that far, but I spent a lot more time on my feet than I do in a typical day.  Typical Michelle thought, “I can do it; it’s not that bad.” 

It wasn’t “that bad” except for the fact that my abdomen weighs a ton.  I’ve gained 40 pounds, and it seems that all of that has gone to my stomach.  Gravity has contributed to making the babies drop a bit, so whenever I walk, I just feel very low and heavy.

I was rewarded last night with some contractions, and this morning while self-monitoring discovered that I’m having about 5 per hour.  The nurse said it’s borderline pre-term labor, so I should continue taking my anti-contraction medication and self-monitoring.  They have not increased in frequency or intensity since then, but I think I see the beginning of the end here!  Only 3 more weeks till my goal, and if I end up back in the hospital for some or all of that, so be it.

If the situation were different, I would be taking care of Alan to make him feel better, but instead I have to ask him to get me lunch.  We just need to get through these next few days and I think both of us will be on an upswing!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth Lund permalink
    May 19, 2011 7:02 am

    Go Michelle! You sound like you’re doing great. It’s so great for the babies that you’ve made it this far. And you even posted on syttende Mai (Norwegian Constitution Day!) By the way, have you considered Dori, Nori and Ori for the babies? My daughter and I love those names! (We saw a little boy named Thorin given a bible at church the other day…that’s when we came up with it.)

  2. Emily permalink
    May 18, 2011 8:46 am

    You’re so close! And you could totally make it another 3 weeks even though you’re having some contractions. A friend of mine who had twins had contractions for 2 months before the babies were finally born.

  3. Penny Pension permalink
    May 17, 2011 1:57 pm

    Maybe you could have borrowed a wheelchair to go to Starbuck’s? Sorry to hear Alan doesn’t feel well. Could the stress of a new job, 3 soon to be new babies, or having to build 3 cribs have caused the cold? Glad to see you’re hanging in there. . . 3 more weeks – piece of cake!

Leave a Reply

