Skip to content

Tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow

June 6, 2011

35 weeks and out in the sun!

Alan wheeled me around the block =)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Less than 24 hours.  Whew.  As Tom Petty said, “The waiting is the hardest part.”

Today I have had 2 IV medications, 2 blood draws, 1 ultrasound, talked with 2 doctors, and there is a 50-50 chance I will have to be put under general anaesthesia for the c-section tomorrow morning.  At this point I feel like I could rival Barry Bonds with all the steroids I’ve been given in the past two months to both hasten respiratory growth in the babies and stimulate my platelet count so clotting during a spinal block would not be an issue.  As much as I was disappointed to hear that my platelets were not responding to the steroids as they were supposed to, I have now accepted whatever will be will be–even if I am not awake for the actual birth, I will get to see these babies as soon as I wake up and am in recovery, and then there will be the rest of their lives for me to witness (whether they like it or not =)).

I asked my friend Liz if the sense of imminent panic is normal for first-time parents, and she said absolutely.  There is this weird mingling of abundant joy and overwhelming cluelessness, and Alan and I for the most part are focusing on the joy and remaining blissfully in denial about the upcoming challenge.  (Though Alan has, in his words, been “panic-nesting” this weekend, and I think our house is fabulously clean!)

And more blessings:  yesterday my dad’s cousin Kathy, who happens to live in Seattle, came to visit, and we reconnected over old family photos and stories about my great-grandmother (her grandmother), whom we both adored.

And finally I just need to say that I am so grateful to the Powers That Be for this pregnancy to have gone so well–I have experienced very little pain or complications that all the books warn about, and that has nothing to do with any influence of mine.  All of your prayers from Texas to California to France to New England have unbelievable force, and we thank you for that!

Next post:  photos of the babies!  (Any last minute guesses for the names?  We picked ’em, but we’re not telling.)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. emfrbu permalink
    February 10, 2013 4:04 am

    I am currently 33 plus weeks preggo with triplets. I’m enjoying reading your archives of pregnancy. Thank you!!

    • February 11, 2013 2:19 pm

      Glad it’s helpful! Let me know if you have any questions or just want an understanding listener–it is a wild and crazy and exhausting and ultimately joyful ride!

  2. Laine Averback permalink
    June 14, 2011 6:55 pm

    Michelle,
    This is the first I’ve heard of any of this; so out of touch in retirement…

    I’ve just read 6/6 and hope that June 7 was a magical day for you, Alan, and your babies!

    My prayers are with all of you…

    Love,
    Laine

  3. Sudha permalink
    June 7, 2011 11:08 am

    Very good to see your charming faces 🙂 I am very glad that whatever forces of nature was involved in their creation also helped staying pregnant (atleast with medications) and it all worked for you !!! Can not wait to see the 3 new super stars …

  4. Neal & BJ permalink
    June 6, 2011 7:42 pm

    Michelle & Alan,

    Don’t know if you’ll see this before in the morning, but Neal and I (Oompa & Ooma) are so excited for the both of you and those precious babies. We can’t wait to hear the names and see the pictures. Since we are “Facebook-Challenged” maybe you can send us an e-mail with pictures. Michelle, I’m so glad we got to visit on the phone tonight . . . I love to hear about everything that’s going on. I definitely think “panic” & “panic-nesting” is more than normal!

    Y’all have a good night’s rest . . . . if you can even sleep . . . and we’ll wait to hear from y’all tomorrow.

    Love you both!
    Neal & BJ

    • Margaret permalink
      June 6, 2011 9:38 pm

      Sweet dreams! Looking forward to meeting the newest Frindells!
      Love, Margaret and Wayne

  5. Penny Pension permalink
    June 6, 2011 6:02 pm

    And so the end is near… sounds like a song! All the prayers for a healthy pregnancy have been answered. The prayers for healthy and happy babies and parents will be answered tomorrow. Michelle, you and Alan will be incredible parents. Those Frindell triplets will be doubley blessed with the both of you. Good luck tomorrow. Can’t wait to see pictures and see the names of the new Frindells.
    Love,
    Penny

  6. Katy permalink
    June 6, 2011 5:58 pm

    I love reading your blog, and I am so excited and happy for you! We will be thinking great thoughts for you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

