Skip to content

Moo, or Things I Am Learning

July 2, 2011

Notes to self for next time I have triplets (har har):

  • The pumping schedule rules my life.  I estimate spending 6.5-7.5 hours per day in pumping-related activity (which also goes through the night)–sometimes I wonder why I even wear a shirt!  It was super-stressful at the beginning, especially when a lactation consultant told me she was worried about my production level and suggested I look into taking Reglan.  I looked into it.  It has awful side effects.  Instead I took fenugreek to the point of sweating maple syrup, ate oatmeal, Barb made me lactation cookies (oatmeal with brewer’s yeast and flaxseed meal), and Karen made me Guinness milkshakes.  It all helped.
  • I get really grouchy when strangers ask when I’m due.
  • I don’t multitask anymore, unless it involves typing while pumping (thank goodness for my hands-free solution).
  • If I can’t order it online or send someone to the store for it, I don’t need it.
  • Having all three babies in the ISCU for three weeks helped a lot with the first-time parent jitters.  We still checked on Audrey several times all the nights we’ve been home.
  • My parents and Alan’s dad and stepmom are amazing.  So are our siblings and their spouses, our neighbors, and friends.  We would not be able to take care of the babies if all these other people weren’t taking care of us.

And now some notes on the babies:

Audrey (a.k.a. Peanut, Bean):

  • She still gets the hiccups daily.  Sometimes several times per day.
  • She likes sticking her tongue out a lot.
  • We are grateful that she is very patient with us.  She doesn’t complain or scream unless she needs our attention, and once she has it, she’s quiet.
  • She has periods of quiet alert time where she just locks eyes with whoever is holding her.  It’s pretty awesome.

 

 

 

Theresa (a.k.a. Treenut, Sweet Pea):

  • She likes to sleep with her arms by her face or behind her head, like she’s posing.
  • The hospital staff all comments on her blonde hair–maybe strawberry blonde?
  • She knows what she wants (usually food) and lets us know it, perhaps a nod to her namesakes, two women who also know what they want and are not afraid to speak up:  Great-Grandma Theresa McNally and Aunt Karen Frindell Teuscher.
  • She has reached 6.5 lbs and should be home some time next week!

 

 

 

Jamie (a.k.a. J-Man, Little Man):

  • The nurses comment on how he wins the cutest boy contest.  We agree.
  • He has been a bit fussy recently due to some G-I tract issues, which should clear up soon.  Mommy and Daddy and some of the nurses have been witness to some impressive feats of distance.
  • He seems to be a blend of his sisters, in looks and personality.
  • At 5.5 lbs, he just got his feeding tube out yesterday and may also come home next week.

 

 

And for all of them, they do this “zombie baby” move where they stick one arm straight up out of the crib.  Sometimes it’s a high-five; sometimes it’s “fight the power.”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2011 12:05 pm

    They look so cute, Michelle — I can’t wait to meet them! Plus I’ve got a nifty present for each of them… (sorry, can’t divulge that information until we see you next)

    Dave

    P.S. I’m linking to you in today’s blog post…

  2. lisa pleas permalink
    July 8, 2011 10:45 am

    Love this Michelle. It, oddly enough, made me a little weepy. What an adventure you and Alan are embarking on! We can’t wait to spend some time with them.

    love,
    Lisa Pleas

  3. Neal & BJ permalink
    July 5, 2011 4:18 am

    I already love these babies, and we haven’t even met them yet . . . . can’t wait until August! Michelle, you need to write a book; your blogs are wonderful. We’re so excited that all three – Peanut, Sweet Pea, and Little Man – may be home by the end of the week. You and Alan do have an amazing support group – I know you are so happy to have your parents there and Barb and Guy not too far away. Enjoy every minute of their visits.

    Love y’all,
    BJ & Neal

  4. Jeff permalink
    July 4, 2011 7:04 am

    You’re a champ. Any time AJ and I feel stressed with Sienna and Cody (who have decided that once a day they will both cry at the same time, which is awesome) we take a breath and say, “at least it’s not three at once. Michelle and Alan are amazing”. Happy 4th of July.

    p.s. Please don’t grade this for grammar and punctuation. I’m sure there are some mistakes

  5. Emily permalink
    July 3, 2011 6:31 pm

    I’m glad all the babies are doing so well! It’s so exciting that they will all be home soon. Discovering their personalities is really fun. A lot of those traits end up sticking as they get older. And all things considered, your pumping schedule sounds pretty reasonable. When we first brought Brianna home I was nursing 10-12 hours per day- 45 minutes to an hour on, one hour off around the clock.

  6. Penny Pension permalink
    July 3, 2011 9:11 am

    Great comments, Michelle. Had me laughing out loud and I had to read them to Bob. Beautiful pictures. I hope (in your spare time) you’re putting them into an album for them. Glad your parents finally made it. I know they couldn’t wait to get there. Love the pictures. Wish I could be there to hold them.
    Penny
    Happy 4th of July tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

