Skip to content

I have been one acquainted with the night

July 23, 2011

Audrey, Theresa, and Jamie have been home with us for two weeks now, and we are adjusting to life dictated by these little beings.  Some weird and interesting (at least to me) observations from these weeks:

  • What used to be acts of routine hygiene have become accomplishments worthy of announcement:  “Hey, I flossed today!”
  • The line between awake and asleep gets really blurry when one is woken up frequently.  The other night, the doula brought me a baby to nurse, and I told her (in slurred voice) that I was already nursing Jamie–which I was, in my dream.  This morning, I swore that my parents and Alan were sitting on camp chairs in our bedroom, feeding babies and talking.  Gone are the surreal, fantasy dreams; here are the dreams that mask as reality.
  • We sing all the time:  real songs; real tunes with words made up to go with whatever we’re doing; made-up tunes and words. I don’t know if it’s more to help the babies or to help us.
  • Things are really funny at 2 am.  Especially things involving baby bodily functions.
  • I hate hearing the babies cry.  However, I have had to learn that, especially at night, there are only 2 of us and 3 of them; therefore, sometimes a baby has to wait before getting food or being held.  Ideal?  Of course not; I’ve read the attachment parenting theory.  Still, it helps my sanity to remember that crying doesn’t hurt them.
  • We have been blessed by donated meals for several months.  The other night, we actually managed to make our own (and by “we,” I mean Alan and our friend Cari, who was wonderful and helped us from 10 am to 9 pm last Saturday).
  • We own approximately 8 gazillion bibs and burp cloths, placed strategically in the living room, nursery, and our bedroom.  We still can’t find any when we’re feeding a baby.
  • No matter how tightly we swaddle our babies, like little ninjas they manage to wriggle their arms out, hit themselves in the face while sleeping, and wake themselves up (“Hey! Somebody hit me!  That’s scary!  WAAAAAH!”).
  • Buying an exercise ball to bounce on while holding a fussy baby may be the best $20 we ever spent.
  • Apparently, babies start with adult-sized boogers.  We have mastered the snot-sucker (ahem, “nasal aspirator”) and show each other the extracted object like a trophy:  “Check out this one!  It’s bigger than her whole head!”
  • I can do all kinds of things while holding or feeding a baby:  pump, use the bathroom, type, eat, hold another baby.  I have even successfully tandem-nursed, which makes me feel like a rock-star mama.  (The first time was not intentional.  I was nursing Audrey and while holding a screaming-with-hunger Theresa, Alan got a nosebleed and handed her to me.  Voila!  Necessity is the mother of invention.)  Take that, former multi-tasking self!

If I could, I would snuggle all three all day long.  I wouldn’t even get up to eat.  That’s how adorable and lovable they are.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeff permalink
    July 24, 2011 1:30 pm

    Love the t-shirt. I’ll have to see if I can get some PPD stuff for the triplets to rock.

  2. Margaret Frindell permalink
    July 23, 2011 10:04 pm

    They ARE adorable! You are doing a wonderful job! Thanks for this update blog. Made me smile, reminisce, and be in awe of how well you are doing. Esp tandem nursing:) When Wendi was a new born, I thought I would never, ever get a full night’s sleep again. And I just had one baby. But I want you to know that you will get a full night’s sleep again, it just takes a little while.
    See you soon!
    Margaret

  3. July 23, 2011 8:58 pm

    I laughed out loud reading about your adventures with Audrey, Jamie and Theresa. 🙂 Can’t wait to meet them in person and see you and Alan as parents!

Leave a Reply

