Skip to content

Updates

October 16, 2011

Notes from life as a new mom:

  • a tree fell down on our street from a windstorm the other day, and I had no idea because I hadn’t left the house (or my pajamas) in 36 hours.
  • one of our babies, who shall remain nameless, had a poo-splosion that projected the aforementioned substance over the changing pad onto the floor and ottoman in the living room (as well as the blanket on the ottoman).  I still can’t believe there was room in that tiny digestive system for that much poop.
  • our water bill has doubled.  I do laundry every day.  Who knew?
  • Audrey has reflux, which often makes her scream when eating from a bottle.  The sound of her choking and then screaming in pain is one of the worst I’ve ever heard.
  • The “snuffle-sigh” is one of my favorite sounds.
  • Theresa’s hair is long enough to make into a faux-hawk after bathtime.
  • I have gotten spit-up or breastmilk on nearly every article of clothing I’ve worn since June 7.
  • Jamie spits up so much that he has become famous for it.
  • I can recite Goodnight Moon.
  • today I had the best feeling:  Jamie was a bit upset in the car while Alan and Maya ran into Whole Foods for sandwiches to go.  So I sang to him, “Sweet Baby James,” which I had sung to him since we decided to name him James.  He quieted down and gazed at me.  I almost couldn’t finish the song due to, um, allergies in my eyes.
One Comment leave one →
  1. Penny Pension permalink
    October 18, 2011 7:04 am

    Wow! You sound like a Mom! And you get all that times 3. And you’re still smiling in all the pictures. Hopefully Audrey will get over the reflux soon.
    Love to all,
    Penny

Leave a Reply

