Skip to content

Lentil Soup and Swings

May 26, 2012

Jen and Theresa

My best friend Jen makes this amazing lentil soup.  I mean, amazing.  It is the quintessential comfort food.  I crave it when I’m sick.  I crave it when it’s rainy and chilly (like it was earlier this week).  It makes me happy, and is incredibly easy and fast.  Bonus:  the babies love it (chunkily pureed).  Extra bonus:  it can be modified with whatever veggies you have in the fridge.

Plus, Jen is awesome and would make this soup for me when I was on bedrest.  She also made it for me last week when I was sick.  This soup has good vibes all over the place.

“Jen-til Soup”

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium onion
  • 3 large carrots, peeled and chopped (I usually use baby carrots–about 3 cups)
  • 3 stalks celery, chopped
  • 2 cups lentils (16 oz)
  • 1 ham hock or ham shank
  • 1 10-oz package frozen chopped spinach
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 6-8 cups water or stock

Directions:

  1. In a large stockpot, saute onions, carrots, and celery over medium heat until soft (5-6 min.).
  2. Add lentils, ham, spinach (no need to defrost), bay leaves, and water or stock.  Bring to a boil.  Lower heat, cover, and simmer for 20 minutes or so, or until lentils are soft.
  3. Remove ham and slice meat off the bone.  Return the bite-sized pieces of ham to the soup.

Really.  That’s it.  No extra salt, no extra herbs or spices–the ham is salty enough, and the flavors just work together.  Last night, I didn’t have celery but did have half a head of red cabbage, which I chopped and added with the lentils.  Colorful and delicious!

Here are some pics from our day today:  Abbie and I took the babies to the park; then she had to leave.  I packed us up, walked home, got everyone their solids dinner, gave a short bath to the poopy one with awful diaper rash, got everyone their before-bed bottles, into pjs, and had storytime.  (Daddy had a flat tire on his bike.)  Not without some screamage, but still…Mommy confidence levels are at an all-time high.

Audrey Two-Teeth

Jamie Four-Teeth

Theresa Six-Teeth

One Comment leave one →
  1. Neal & BJ permalink
    May 27, 2012 7:44 am

    Great soup recipe! Love the captions for the pics; love the pics! See you soon.

    BJ

Leave a Reply

