Skip to content

Sisterhood of the Running Shorts

September 30, 2012

When I was young, I asked my mom if she would get pregnant again so I could have a little sister.

She said, “Let me think about that.  No.”

Or something to that effect.  I have come to appreciate my brother Jeff a lot more than I did when I was little.  Plus, now I get two sisters:  Jeff’s wife AJ and Alan’s sister Karen.

AJ and Karen are two of the most amazing people I know.  I admire them for many, many reasons, one of which is their commitment to running.

Karen ran her first marathon in New York City and qualified for Boston.  She now coaches high school cross-country and is training for the Chicago Marathon.  She runs in the morning or early afternoon before her office hours.

AJ ran her first 5K as a mom on Mother’s Day, only four months after my niece was born.  She races several times a year, including the Beach to Beacon in Cape Elizabeth, Maine.  She runs right after school or in the early evening after my niece and nephew are in bed.

I, on the other hand, often struggle against the Lazy Voice who has a gazillion reasons why I don’t want to run today.  Since the babies are old enough to enjoy being in the jogging stroller, though, running has become one of the ways I get to do what I want without sacrificing time with my kids.  They come along for the ride; I get an extra workout (11.30 pace and two decent hills); they get out of the house before morning nap.

Today I ran my first race in more than two years:  Beat the Burn 5K, run by Washington Firefighters Association and benefitting a summer camp for youth burn survivors.  It is a good cause and was a glorious day to run:  along the waterfront in West Seattle, looking out over Puget Sound to the Seattle skyline glittering in the sun.

Our good friends Jen and Colin got up early to come help Alan with the babies and to cheer.  The World’s Best Husband, who encouraged me to race in the first place after my disappointing Mother’s Day 5K cancelled by the flu, held babies aloft to cheer for Mommy.

I ran a 27.54, just about 9-minute pace, which is better than I could have hoped for.

It is good to be back in the Sisterhood of the Running Shorts.  Next up:  a 10K.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    October 2, 2012 12:33 pm

    Yes!! Welcome back! I’m so proud to be in the sisterhood with you!

  2. Penny permalink
    October 2, 2012 7:07 am

    Way to go, Michelle.

  3. Neal & BJ permalink
    October 1, 2012 12:44 pm

    That’s awesome! So proud of you!

  4. October 1, 2012 2:53 am

    You are amazing!! Congrats.

Leave a Reply

