Skip to content

Walk With Us

October 26, 2012

We walk at least once a day–the recent rain has not deterred us.  On Tuesday and Thursday mornings, we cross one of the adjacent arterials and walk in the quiet neighborhoods that border ours.  On Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, our late afternoon walks take us up our closest quiet north-south street.

Last fall, I got so bored with this street.  I felt trapped in this ten block radius of my house, and chafed against the sameness of the landscape.

Now that the babies are older and more observant, I love our walks.  They find something interesting on almost every block, and we can take as long or as short a time as we want.  Theresa notices pinecones and leaves and the birds on the telephone wires.  Audrey notices dogs and bikes and trucks.  Jamie notices trees.

One of the gifts I have discovered in this temporary stay-at-home mom gig is presence.  I am bound to someone else’s schedule, and I check my watch frequently (when do they need to eat?  when do we need to be home for nap?).  Still, I rush far less than I used to as an adult.  When I was teaching full time, I felt like I was always multi-tasking, trying to cram several to-do items into one time span.

On our walks, or playing in our front room or at the park, I can only do one thing:  focus on the babies and our surroundings, helping them interpret the world around them.  They are increasingly imitating our speech, trying to say our words.  Jamie was trying to say “chalkboard” today, and Audrey says “church” and “truck” and “jacket” and a myriad other words.  Theresa says “mo” for “more,” which is adorable.

Anyway, I mean that I love our walks now.  I love being present with them and spending a few minutes watching crows.  I love meeting everyone in our neighborhood who walks with dogs.  I love the little landmarks.  Come for a walk with us.

The rainy season means an excuse to wear my awesome rain boots (a birthday gift from my parents).

We use gentle touches to explore all kinds of plants and flowers.

Of all the trees on the street, this Douglas fir is their favorite.

Another favorite plant is this long grass–I call it the “tickle bush” because they love feeling the feathery ends on their hands and faces.

Thank goodness we’re in the flight path for SeaTac–whenever they hear a plane, they point to the sky and make raspberries (their version of the sound effect we make for planes).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Abbie permalink
    October 28, 2012 3:19 pm

    And they all say abbie. haha.

  2. ebelinsk@bu.edu permalink
    October 27, 2012 7:46 pm

    So awesome. Being present is a beautiful thing.

  3. Neal & BJ permalink
    October 27, 2012 11:53 am

    Michelle, love your rain boots – they’re just like you – bright and cheery! Neal noticed the same thing about the raincoats and wagon seats – they match! Living vicariously through your blog and pictures . . . thanks so much for sharing them!!

    Love and hugs to all,
    Oompa and Ooma

  4. Penny permalink
    October 27, 2012 4:55 am

    Great story, brings back memories of walking with you and the trips. I love the matching raincoats and wagons! They are getting so big so fast.
    Love to all of you.
    Penny

Leave a Reply

