Skip to content

And did I mention…

March 29, 2013

…that it’s spring?

That everywhere we see crocuses, daffodils, tulips, plum blossoms, cherry blossoms, grape hyacinths, and all manner of other flowers whose names I don’t know but I love them anyway.

I love the “dandy-lions” (as TK calls them) whose yellow heads dot lawns and parking strips.

I love the camellia tree at the end of our street who spills bright pink petals all over the sidewalk.

I love the sunshiney forsythia that reminds me of my grandparents’ backyard, where my brother and cousins and I used to crawl through a hole in the bush to get to our secret spot (in a small grove of lilac trees).

Summer is great with its blooms and crops, but early spring is one of my favorite times of year.  The explosion of color set against the blue sky is a reminder of rebirth and resurrection and all those sentimental words about miracles.

And it’s Good Friday, so I’m supposed to be all solemn and expectant (and not have eaten that Cuban pork sandwich for lunch…oops), but I cannot be anything but joyful.

And tomorrow our kids get to participate in their first Easter egg hunt, hosted by our amazing neighbors who hide eggs all along our street’s front yards.

And on Sunday we host 8 other people for Easter dinner (during naptime), and give much thanks for family and friendship and miracles.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2013 4:16 am

    Happy Easter (okay, one day late!). How nice to meet you and your wonderful blog, and to see that we are both thinking so much about spring, spring flowers, rebirth and blossoming this week… Ha! 🙂 Enjoy the longer days…

  2. Penny permalink
    March 30, 2013 7:32 am

    A Happy and Joyous Easter to you, Alan, Audrey, Jamie and Theresa. Can’t wait to see pictures of the trips and their Easter finery. The Easter egg hunt should be fun to watch.

Leave a Reply

