Skip to content

Why Today Rocked

March 29, 2013

I feel compelled to follow every post about the frustrations of parenting triplet toddlers with one that shows how awesome they are.  Because they really are awesome, when they’re not melting down.

This week has gotten progressively better (minus our first public tantrum–thank goodness it was in music class and we were surrounded by people who were tolerant and understanding).  Wednesday we couldn’t go for a walk due to a steady and fairly cold rain, but we had a blast anyway playing in the basement.

Audrey and I made up a new game called “Through the Wickets” in which I roll a ball through her legs (a la Bill Buckner–sorry for the allusion, family Red Sox fans) and say, “through the wickets!” which she finds hysterical.  Jamie and I made up a game where he squats on the platform at the top of the slide, and I roll a ball up the slide to him (mostly my skeeball skills are terrible and it doesn’t make it to the top).  He finds this game hysterical too.  Theresa and I made a game of drumming on the floor with our stuffed Animal (from the Muppets–thank you, Erin, for sending him!); she likes to drum while lying on her stomach on the floor, and stretching her hands out like Superman.

The way my kids laugh fills me with sunshine.  Jamie even thinks the words “lasagna” and “yep” are giggle-worthy.

Today I went for a run with Audrey, who is a great running buddy in the stroller.  We came back, I changed quickly, and we had a fun time at the playground: they climbed, slid, swung, and Jamie spun the girls on the merry-go-round (he likes holding on to a pole and running around to spin it; they like riding around).  And there I met another triplet mom!  Better yet, she lives about 12 blocks from us!  And better still, her girls are three and a half–so she KNOWS THINGS.  Like potty training three kids at once.  And preschools.  And sleep regression.  And how to take your triplets to the park by yourself once they’re old enough.  Hallelujah!

And then once the kids were down for nap, I put new tabs on the license plate, took Alan’s car for an oil change, walked in the brilliant and warm sun to our local cafe to get a sandwich, chatted with my mom on the way home, and ate lunch in the sun on our deck.  And the Easter dresses I ordered that were supposed to arrive next Monday (bummer) arrived today.

Some days things just go right.  Thank God for those days.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth Frindell permalink
    April 6, 2013 9:03 pm

    WOW! You are all doing great! My mom always kept saying that every day they get older, and things are getting better. . . . You’re doing so much more than I can imagine!
    After I am past the cataract and ankle surgeries, I will start booking flights 2 or more times a year. . . .

  2. Neal & BJ permalink
    March 29, 2013 7:46 pm

    I would say that you have had a very Good Friday in more ways than one! Have a wonderful Easter! Love y’all so much! Neal & BJ

Leave a Reply

