Skip to content

CSA Celebration!

June 21, 2013

I have six blog posts in draft form but wanted to publish this one because tonight’s dinner was so delicious and healthy (and, very importantly, easy to make in one naptime).

We subscribed to our first CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) box this summer, from Abbie’s cousin’s farm Local Roots. I have discovered that I like the CSA challenge:  instead of making a menu plan and shopping for the ingredients I need, I have to be creative and work with the ingredients I am given due to the season, the weather, and the harvest.  And I really love supporting local farmers.

First box:  arugula, radishes, cilantro, kohlrabi, snap peas, 2 heads of lettuce.

First box: arugula, radishes, cilantro, kohlrabi, snap peas, 2 heads of lettuce.

Last week we got lettuce, kohlrabi, radishes and some other veggies that we mostly used up (the arugula wilted because I didn’t ziplock it…sad).  The roasted radish recipe I used did not turn out fantastic.  But we got more radishes this week, so I can try a different one.

I diced one kohlrabi and mixed it into a multi-grain quesadilla filling, which prompted my kids to ask for “plain quesadilla” (apparently the multi-grain veggie mix was too thick for their liking).  The other kohlrabi cooked and mashed with cauliflower for these amazing cauliflower fritters, which my kids devoured on the first night and disdained the leftovers.  Oh well, more for me.

Theresa gets ready to help cook.

Theresa gets ready to help cook.

We also got baby turnips and kale, which I turned into a yummy and fast dinner, along with pork chops and boiled carrots.  The kids LOVED the kale chips, and ate carrots and not much pork.  There were only 12 baby turnips in the bunch so Alan and I got to eat them, but if we get them again, the kids can try them too.

Quick Herbed Pork

Ingredients:

  • 4 pork loin chops, about 1″ thick (and totaling about 1.75 lbs)
  • herbed rub (mine was from Stonewall Kitchen, but you could make your own:  black pepper, salt, garlic powder, thyme)
  • olive oil

Directions:

  1. Warm the oil in a non-stick skillet.  Rub the pork on both sides with about 2 tsp. of rub total.
  2. Sear the pork on one side (about 5 min.).  Cook on the other side until internal temperature is 145 (I cooked mine to 160, about 8 min.).
Woo hoo!  We love veggies!

Woo hoo! We love veggies!

Braised Baby Turnips

adapted from Sassy Radish

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch baby turnips (about 1 lb)
  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice (I used 3, and it was a little too lemony)
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 3 cloves of garlic, peeled
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. each:  basil, oregano, thyme
  • 1/8 tsp. fennel seeds

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375.  Trim the turnips so a small green stump remains–I left about 1/4 inch but could have left more, as turnip greens are edible in their own right.  Scrub those babies well, especially around the stem.
  2. Combine all ingredients in a small ovenproof dish.  I used my smallest cast iron skillet.  Mix well.
  3. Cover the dish / skillet and cook for 40 min.  Turnips should be easily pierced with a fork.
Helping in the garden.

Helping in the garden.

Kale Chips

adapted from many different places, most recently David Lebovitz

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch kale (should end up with maybe 8 cups leaves)
  • olive oil
  • salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400.
  2. Wash and dry each piece of kale.  Tear the leaves from the stalk; you should have roughly bite-size pieces or a little bigger.
  3. Throw all leaves in a large bowl.  Drizzle with olive oil (start with just a little) and rub the oil through the leaves with your hands.  Maybe 1 Tbsp. of oil should be enough to lightly coat all the leaves.
  4. Spread the leaves onto a baking sheet (mine took 2 baking sheets).  Sprinkle with salt.  Roast for 5-6 minutes or until crisped.  If leaves have overlapped in the oven, separate them with tongs and roast a few more minutes.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Neal & BJ permalink
    June 23, 2013 12:18 pm

    Sounds like a great pork chop recipe! I’m going to buy some Stonewall Kitchen things when we’re in Massachusetts. Love the pictures! Hugs to all!

  2. Karen Frindell permalink
    June 22, 2013 4:36 pm

    Try braised radishes! They are good with red wine vinegar and a little sugar…

    • June 22, 2013 9:26 pm

      I tried roasting them with this recipe. Not my favorite. I’ll try the braising thing, which seems to work for everything else! Thanks for the tip, Chef Extraordinaire. =)

  3. Abbie Spear permalink
    June 21, 2013 10:32 pm

    YAY Local Roots! They told me you were in their CSA:)

Leave a Reply

