Skip to content

Glorious Greens, Inglorious Injury

July 7, 2013
tags:

Maya would be proud that not only am I using the cookbook she gave me–Greens, Glorious Greens–as my bible for cooking all leafy things, but also that I am using some unexpected greens from our CSA box.  Like turnip greens.

Even my parents tried them.

Whoa.

And this box had more turnips, which I braised again using the previously posted recipe, and holy wow, were they good.  On top of creamy polenta with the rubbed pork chops from the same previous post–yum.  A simple meal, accompanied by bread and salad and four of my favorite dinner guests (my parents and Jen and Colin), and wine and chocolate ice cream to try to make up for the fact that I broke my toe.

Everyone asks, “How did you break it?”

I have no idea.  I have toddlers.  My feet suffer an accidental beating pretty much every day:  board books get dropped on them; toes get stubbed hard; cars get run over them; small children jump onto them.

Anyway, today I was ordered by my parents and Alan to stay off my feet as much as possible.  Which resulted in my finishing Life After Life, which was fantastic, and may enable me to actually read the two library books I checked out a week or so ago.  Broken toes may have silver linings, to mangle metaphors.

Audrey waters the greens in our garden.

Audrey waters the greens in our garden.

Bok Choy and Turnip Greens

adapted from In My Box blog and Greens, Glorious Greens

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch turnip greens
  • coconut or olive oil (enough to coat the bottom of a wok)
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1″ fresh ginger, grated
  • 3 baby bok choy, separated into leaves and stems, both chopped
  • 2 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • 2 Tbsp. rice vinegar
  • 2 tsp. sesame oil

Directions:

  1. Strip the leaves from the turnip stems.  Blanch greens in boiling water for 2-3 minutes.  Drain, cool, and chop.  (The cookbook says this helps get rid of the bitterness…I suppose you could try just stir-frying them without this step.)
  2. Heat oil in wok or large skillet over high heat.  Saute garlic and ginger for 30 seconds.  Add bok choy stems and saute until crisp-tender, about 5 minutes.
  3. Add bok choy greens and turnip greens and saute until greens wilt (maybe 2 min.).  Turn heat off and drizzle soy sauce and rice vinegar over mixture and stir.  Top with sesame oil.

Serves 3-4 as a side dish.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2013 9:10 pm

    Yay! So glad you are enjoying the book, Greens Glorious Greens. It’s one of my favorites. 🙂 But sorry to hear you broke your toe! I’m glad it’s at least giving you some extra reading time. Looking forward to chatting with you soon. ❤

  2. July 10, 2013 10:37 pm

    Ooh, that greens cookbook looks fabulous! Glad I could help out with the turnip green situation. 🙂

  3. Neal & BJ permalink
    July 8, 2013 4:55 am

    Oh no! I’m so sorry about your toe – it takes a long time to feel better. Listen to the people that love you and take care of yourself! So glad your parents are there. Recipe sounds great!

Leave a Reply

