Skip to content

Some great new recipe finds

July 19, 2013

I am being lazy here (or incredibly pressed for time) and just posting links to some good recipes I’ve found recently.

How many are toddler-approved?  The French toast was a huge hit (since my kids would love to eat nothing but bread three meals a day anyway, soaking it in eggs and milk makes me feel like they’re getting more nutritional value).  They liked the vegetable pancakes pretty well.  Only Theresa eats pasta with any sort of sauce; generally all three prefer plain pasta.

More for me.

Peach Baked French Toast (I used 4 fresh nectarines, 1 lb. loaf of bread, 12 eggs, and 3 cups milk)

Pasta with Roasted Fennel and Tomatoes (in the “What do I do with CSA fennel??” category, I roasted cherry tomatoes with the fennel and omitted the sun-dried, used Great Northern beans drained instead of sausage, and sage instead of parsley.  Next time I would also probably omit the capers.)

Pasta with Garlicky Broccoli Rabe (in the “What do I do with CSA broccoli rabe, and how do you pronounce it anyway?” category.  I omitted the crushed red pepper and added cooked chicken sausage.  My parents loved it.)

Okonomiyaki (Japanese vegetable pancakes, and I did not make the tangy sauce.)

Warm Butternut Squash and Chickpea Salad (I loved this so much that I scrounged the grocery store for the last sad squash I could find in April…it almost wasn’t worth it.  But come fall, this will be on the menu a lot.)

Chopped Salad with Feta, Lime, and Mint (This salad is made fantastic by the three things in the title and by the dressing–and in my humble opinion, by adding avocado, which makes nearly everything better.  I made a huge bowlful and ate it for three days.)

Happy Summer!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Neal & BJ permalink
    July 20, 2013 6:20 am

    Peach French toast sounds amazing! Maybe we can make some in August. The 2 year old photos are adorable. Can’t wait to be there! Love to all.

Leave a Reply

