Skip to content

A Little Sunshine

November 1, 2013
tags: ,

I started this blog for my cousins, who, as college athletes, needed healthy food but were going to be cooking in small dorm apartment kitchens with limited appliances.  And, okay, just a tiny bit for myself as a writer, the self that had been hiding out from critics since 1999.

Then whoa, triplet pregnancy: the blog shifted into musings about parenting, child development, photos of my kids.  These were primarily posted for what I thought were my only readers:  pretty much my family and a couple of friends.

Then, WHOA:  someone out in the blogosphere (Melinda, working mom of three and author of There Is a Season) read my blog.  And liked it enough to pass on this Sunshine Award.

I feel like Whitman in “A noiseless, patient spider” who, having “launch’d forth filament, filament filament,” has finally connected with another human in the “measureless oceans of” the Internet (how’s that for mangled metaphor?).  Thank you, Melinda!  You made my week.

The Sunshine Award Rules

  • Acknowledge the nominating blogger.
  • Share 11 random facts about yourself.
  • Answer 11 questions the nominating blogger has created for you.
  • List 11 bloggers.  They should be bloggers you believe deserve some recognition and a little blogging love!
  • Post 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate to answer and let all the bloggers know they’ve been nominated. (You cannot nominate the blogger that nominated you.)

11 random facts about me

  1. My first “real” job (i.e. not babysitting) was as an office clerk for a funeral home.
  2. I met my husband at a vintage ballroom dance.  He was in a tux and asked me to waltz.
  3. I will eat just about anything other than mushrooms and olives.
  4. I turned thirteen, got chicken pox, and moved all in the same week.
  5. One of my goals is 50 by 50 (blatantly imitating my friends Elisabeth and Tim):  to see all 50 states by the time I turn 50.
  6. I’ve done three half-marathons, but these days I’m happy if I can run a 5K.
  7. I am really detail-oriented, and it frustrates me beyond reason when I lose something.
  8. My favorite meal is breakfast, when I have time to make something more than almond butter on an English muffin that I eat during my morning commute.
  9. I do not watch television.  This is not to say I don’t think there are good shows on–there probably are, but I tend toward addiction with anything narrative (i.e. I zone out during sporting events but watch the commercials).  It’s better if I keep away.
  10. I will always be a Red Sox fan.
  11. I like what I like, even if it’s out of the norm.  In high school, I was listening to Frank Sinatra and watching Katharine Hepburn movies, and wishing I could have lived in the era of swing.  A few years ago, I and a colleague would chat about Battlestar Galactica while everyone else in our office obsessed over American Idol or Lost (and, ahem, made fun of us for watching sci-fi).

11 questions for me 

  • What writers inspire you?  Oh, so many…Toni Morrison, Salman Rushdie, Anne Lamott, Barbara Kingsolver, Annie DIllard, Henry David Thoreau, and on and on…
  • How do you make time to write?  I stay up past my bedtime.
  • What is the last book you read?  The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, by Douglas Adams.
  • What is the one talent you would trade (almost) everything to have?  Craftiness.  I am sadly lacking in the “let me create and structure an arts and crafts project for my kids” department.
  • Who is your favorite established blogger?  Beth Woolsey of Five Kids Is a Lot of Kids, and Deb Perelman of Smitten Kitchen
  • What’s your favorite television show? [See #9 above.] Past favorite shows:  Battlestar Galactica (the new one), The Muppet Show, M*A*S*H
  • What’s something from the past that you believe we should bring back?  Neon scrunchies, clearly.  Or, actually, how about letter writing?  I miss writing actual letters.
  • What modern device/convenience/trend etc. do you wish we could send packing?  Texting as a substitute for conversation.  It’s convenient for quick-response questions, but if you want more substantial communication, just talk to the person.
  • What’s your dream job (besides parent or writer)?  I have it already: teacher.  Though dream teaching would involve very small classes, short school days, and a personal assistant to do all the bureaucratic paper-pushing.
  • What’s the best gift you ever received?  Grace.  I mean, the waffle-maker was nice but kind of doesn’t hold a candle.
  • What is your favorite children’s book?  For little kids: Sesame Street’s The Monster at the End of This Book (my dad did Grover’s voice, and it was awesome.)  For slightly older kids:  Anne of Green Gables.

Bloggers I believe deserve a bigger audience

Okay, this is embarrassing:  I don’t read a lot of blogs.  Most of the ones I read already have substantial followings.  These are ones I have discovered either by knowing the author or by having the author check in at my own blog.  They are diverse and fascinating and passionately written.

11 questions for my nominated bloggers

  1. Who’s your favorite Muppet?
  2. What was the last movie you saw in the theater?
  3. What was your favorite class in high school?
  4. What’s one thing from your childhood that you wish you still had?
  5. When was the last time you got a full night’s sleep?
  6. What fictional character or song best describes you?
  7. Best advice you’ve ever heard?
  8. Scariest thing you’ve ever done?
  9. Nicest compliment you’ve ever received?
  10. What compels you to blog?
  11. What’s one piece of advice you would give to a new blogger?
4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2013 10:52 am

    Thanks, Michelle! I am just getting back to this, but it is really fun. I hope to answer the questions soon. And, I always love seeing updates on your blog. You’re doing such a great job balancing the small people, the big jobs, and the details ;D

  2. November 3, 2013 1:01 pm

    Congratulations!

    Paulette Motzko

  3. Neal & BJ permalink
    November 2, 2013 9:19 am

    Congratulations, Michelle! Love reading all your blogs!

Trackbacks

  1. Sunshine Award – Draft | Gotta Find a Home

Leave a Reply

