Skip to content

More Recipes to Share

July 6, 2014
CSA love in the form of garlic scapes

CSA love in the form of garlic scapes

I’ve been doing way more simple cooking recently, but have tried to keep a list for myself of awesome (and relatively easy) stuff I can come back to when pre-made burgers and sweet potato fries aren’t cutting it anymore.  Here’s some good ones from St. Patrick’s Day to now:

  • This freaking amazing Corned Beef and Cabbage, so reminiscent of my Nana’s that I felt like I was back at the kids’ table with my cousins again.
  • Arugula Pesto:  Arugula is hard for me to eat in CSA quantities.  So, pesto it is:  over pasta with steamed broccoli or sauteed kale and cherry tomatoes; on pizza with mozzarella, broccoli, and roasted red pepper; mixed with yogurt or other cheeses for dip…More greens!  (And cheese.  Always cheese.)
  • Roasted Squash and Greens over Pasta:  Greens, squash, and cheese.  ‘Nuff said.
  • Tomato and Sausage Risotto:  Contrary to what I just said, this one involves some stirring, but the results are worth it.  And it’s still a one-pot meal.
  • Roasted Shrimp with Rosemary and Thyme:  I love roasting more and more, as it is one of the less hands-on methods:  no standing over a spattering skillet, no stirring.  And delicious.
  • Crock-Pot Cassoulet:  The ultimate one-pot meal:  coming from a crock-pot.  Toss in all ingredients.  Press “on.”  Return 7+ hours later to a house smelling heavenly and dinner ready.
  • Tangy Spiced Brisket:  See above.  We made this for Easter, and froze the leftovers.
  • Fig-Nut Quick Bread:  A way to use up leftover dried figs in the cabinet, and a nice change from banana or zucchini or other common quick breads.  (Plus, my kids didn’t really like it, so more for me.)
  • These Fruit-Bran Muffins have been calling me since I made my first batch…they need summer fruit, they say.  Like nectarines, or plums, or fresh berries.
One Comment leave one →
  1. Neal & BJ permalink
    July 7, 2014 12:40 pm

    These recipes look great! Love the pancake pictures – looks like Kona Kitchen. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

