Skip to content

Green Monster (…smoothie, that is)

November 16, 2014

I’m on the bandwagon.

The green smoothie bandwagon.

I know.  I can hear the eye rolls and gag reflexes too.

Here’s the thing.  I first tried a green smoothie when Maya was here visiting.  Hers involved all ingredients being green.  Avocado, cucumber, chard, and I forget what else.  She added blueberry juice for sweetness.

I tried it.  It was…not my favorite.

Then I got a good recommendation for protein powder that isn’t some weird concoction of manufactured enzymes and “natural flavors”–this one is just pumpkin seeds, ground up.  I played around with recipes until I found one that works, with some variations.  It keeps me full for a whole morning.  It tastes good.

That’s the thing:  I love eating enough not to eat something that tastes gross or has a disgusting texture just because it’s healthy.  These smoothies taste good to me, and even better, make my body feel energized, not weighted down.  I feel really good when I have one of these for breakfast.

Plus, I got one of those coffee-shop to-go iced coffee cups with a straw, so I can eat as I drive:  messless, healthy, tasty breakfast.  Win!

My kids love helping me put everything into the blender, and sometimes even drink some with their breakfast (I think they like the novelty of using a straw as much as the smoothie itself).  Someday maybe I can get them to eat more.  I might not be able to convert Alan (maybe not ever), but I’m not out to be a food-vangelist.  I’m just sharing new info in case you wanted to go for a test ride on the bandwagon.

My Green Smoothie Recipe

adapted from various sources, including the Nutri-Bullet recipe book and other blogs

Ingredients:

  • 2 handfuls of greens*
  • 1/2 – 1 cut-up apple or pear
  • 1/3 frozen banana*
  • 1/2 – 1 cup frozen berries (blueberries, strawberries, or mixed berries)
  • 1.5 Tbsp. pumpkin seed protein powder
  • 2 Tbsp. ground chia seeds or ground flaxseeds (flaxseed meal like Bob’s Red Mill is available at most grocery stores in our area)
  • 1-2 Tbsp. almond butter
  • 1 cup coconut or other dairy-free milk (more or less depending on how thick you want your smoothie)

Directions:

  1. Since I have a Nutri-Bullet, I put everything into the cup in the order above, and blend for 1 minute.  When I used my food processor, it was helpful to blend the greens and raw fruit, then put the frozen stuff and liquid in and blend again.
  2. Drink up!

*I have found best results with the following:  just spinach (best for newbies), just kale, or a spinach-kale-chard blend from Trader Joe’s.  Chard by itself was weird in both taste and texture.

*I peel a banana, split it into thirds, and keep a ziplock of banana thirds in the freezer.

Make-ahead note:  these do not taste great after sitting, even in the refrigerator, for a while.  Instead of making the whole thing ahead of time, I assemble all ingredients except the frozen fruit and the liquid the night before.  Then in the morning, I just add those things, blend, and go.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 16, 2014 10:29 pm

    So glad to hear you are enjoying green smoothies and that you’ve found a recipe that works for you. That’s the key! My favorite is similar, but as you remembered has a bit more green stuff in it. 😉 Here’s a favorite version of mine: 1/2 banana, 1/3 avocado, 1/2 small cucumber, greens (spinach/kale or other, more or less depending on how green you like it), ~4 frozen strawberries, ~1/2 cup frozen blue berries, ~4 chunks of frozen pineapple, ~1/3 cup pecans, enough liquid to get it all blended (combo of almond milk & water is usually what I use). This makes a large amount. Mmm! Tasty!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

