Skip to content

Accentuate the Positive

January 20, 2015

My beloved friend Patrick is undergoing treatment for a life-threatening illness.  As his friends and family pray constantly for his treatment’s success, he maintains his usual optimistic attitude, exemplified in his writing about how his father Jim’s favorite song, “Accentuate the Positive,” has played on the radio at auspicious moments.

These guys know something about accentuating the positive.  Jim was and Patrick is a formidable force for goodness, for justice, and for laughter in the world.  They have experienced more than their share of tragedy, and have both chosen joy and gratitude in the face of it.  They inspire pretty much everyone who has ever known them.

In this spirit, I humbly offer my recent accentuating of the positive:

  • The man whose car I scraped while attempting to parallel park was so kind when he called in response to my note left on his windshield.  As I apologized profusely, he said, “It’s not a big deal, just a paint job.”  To end the conversation, he wished me “the best day it was possible to have.”  Kind strangers rock.
  • We now have all three children in underwear during the day, and one no longer needs pull-ups overnight.  This feels like a huge milestone to have hurdled (nothing like mixing metaphors…).
  • My children, while at times loud, unruly, shovers-and-grabbers, are developing such empathy and kindness, it makes my heart melt.  Upon hearing that a different friend of mine was not feeling well, Theresa announced, “Let’s make her a get-well card!  What animals does she like?”  Nicole helped them create cards and wrote down what they wanted to say to her (some of which is hilarious due to its non-sequitor-ness).
  • Nicole told me today how she had to explain to our kids and another girl at the park how the playground toys are for everyone, because this other girl claimed that the slides were “for girls only” and that “boys can’t use them”–which made Jamie seriously sad.  We are so grateful for such a kind, empathic, and intuitive nanny who coaches our kids on lovingkindness when we are not there to do so.
  • This post by Sarah Ruddell Beach about mindfulness.  Yes.
  • As a curly-haired female who has spent most of my life defending my choice not to straighten my hair (to my students, some stylists, etc.), I love this ad for Dove about loving one’s curls–not because I use their products, but because they are trying to do something about yet another aspect of perceived beauty that makes girls feel less-than, on-the-outside, not-enough.
  • Alan leaves on Sunday for a week-long mission-of-mercy combined with work trip.  But my AWESOME DAD is coming on Saturday to help out for the week, and my AWESOME MOM (who retires in June, woot woot!) comes on Thursday to round out the cavalry.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2015 1:58 pm

    Warn your dad, I am coming to visit when he is here! There is no escape!

  2. Amanda Ruth permalink
    January 21, 2015 2:14 am

    Thank you for the book!! How fun that your friend is an author:).

    Take care,
    AJ

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

