Skip to content

Simple Gifts

May 6, 2015

Some simple gifts recently:

  • lunch in the sunshine with another triplet mama (hi, N!)–so refreshing to the soul to have conversation full of “Me too!” and “I know, right?” and “I’m so glad I’m not the only one.”
  • red tulips that glow against the darkish grey of twilight rain
  • Mindful Moment Fridays:  a new routine I started for my students to teach them mindfulness practices
  • watching baby snails and slugs emerge on rain-slicked sidewalks
  • smelling the lilacs, which always reminds me of my Nana and Grampy’s lilac trees in their backyard.  And Amy Lowell’s “Lilacs,” which ends:
Heart-leaves of lilac all over New England,
Roots of lilac under all the soil of New England,
Lilac in me because I am New England,
Because my roots are in it,
Because my leaves are of it,
Because my flowers are for it,
Because it is my country
And I speak to it of itself
And sing of it with my own voice
Since certainly it is mine.
  • rhododendrons bursting into color everywhere:  whites, pinks, brilliant reds
  • taking a walk instead of yelling during one very frustrating afternoon.
  • a date with my elderly neighbor to hear the Seattle Symphony play Grieg’s piano concerto, a beautiful piece which brought tears to my eyes.
  • watching my students perform in Footloose.
  • a mini-hike with Nana, Grampy, Nicole, and all the kids on a gorgeous spring afternoon in April.
  • my dad cleaned out 4 metric tons of Cheerios and other detritus from the floor of our van while he was here.  And fixed our pot filler.  And fixed our grill.  And mowed our lawn.  My mom did approximately 36 loads of laundry.
  • Canadians.  Seriously.  They are so nice.
  • a weekend trip to Vancouver to cheer on Alan as he ran the Vancouver Marathon:  a beautiful day; a beautiful city; a strong, dedicated, inspiring husband.
  • having seven people in our lives take care of our kids in various shifts over two and a half days.  So grateful for our village.

IMG_5109

  • a surprise thank-you note from one of my freshmen:  that I helped her find her voice, and that she is inspired to be a voice for the voiceless.
  • reconnecting with my best friend from high school (hi, H!).
  • our new family tradition:  getting donuts after kids’ haircuts.  Such a nice treat, and a very nice incentive for those who dislike having anyone touch their head.  Extra-extra bonus:  the vegan donut place near us means I get a donut too.
  • “special kid-Mommy days”:  Audrey voted to spend her special Audrey-Mommy day at the aquarium with a bonus ride on the Great Wheel; Theresa spent her special Theresa-Mommy day at the aquarium with a good amount of time in the gift store, hugging stuffed animals; Jamie wanted to follow his trip to the aquarium with a ride on the Great Wheel, but it was closed for renovations, so we ended up riding the elevator to the top of the Space Needle instead.  I am so grateful for these days.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Neal & BJ permalink
    May 7, 2015 9:56 am

    Making wonderful memories! Simple gifts are the BEST kind of gifts! Thanks for this positive start to our day!

Leave a Reply

