Skip to content

Random Thursday Musings

January 28, 2016

There’s so much going on these days.  Here’s a snippet:

  • My favorite time of day is a bit after 7 am (on days I’m not working):  “Mommy?  Mama, can I snuggle with you?”  Yes.  Yes, you can, kiddo.  These drowsy half-light cuddly moments go straight into my heart to be held as I hold you against my chest.
  • Two weeks ago:  “Mommy, I peed in the tub.”  Last night:  “Mommy, I pooped in the tub.”  Two different kids, same cause:  laughing too hard with a sibling.  At least it wasn’t intentional.  Not like our cat, who apparently deliberately peed on our bathmat and then any subsequent towel on the bathroom floor until we went textile-free.
  • One of my students had a small typo in a recent essay.  This student laughed for five minutes after getting it back, and let me take a picture of it.  (P.S. The intended word was “shift.”)

IMG_6619

  • The other best part of my day is when I come home from work and the living room explodes with voices and small bodies hurtling toward me to wrap themselves around my knees.
  • Things have been crazy and busy but…feeling manageable-ish.  If that’s not a word, it should be.
  • We started kindergarten open houses this week.  A few months ago, I was feeling anxious and overwhelmed; now I just feel excited.  Any of our options (all in our city’s public school system) will be great.  This hearkens back to one of the best pieces of advice I ever got:  when I was about to graduate from college and had a one-way ticket to California with many applications in but no interviews lined up, I worried and worried about what would happen and was I crazy? and what if-what if-what if?  My friend and sort-of mentor Paul (who also later officiated at our wedding!) said, “Who says you have to stay forever?  If it’s not working out, you can change it.  Come home.”  It was radically soothing to me, who somehow thought that if I failed somehow, that I was doomed to a life of failure.  He helped me see that a choice–even a turning-point choice like graduating and moving across the country–did not have to be the last choice.  I see kindergarten the same way:  if the school we choose isn’t working, we can change it next year.
  • We had a spontaneous play date with some of the kids’ preschool classmates, and it was so fun watching them play with friends other than each other.
  • I love this quote from Hot Cakes in Ballard (and I love that a cafe dedicated to molten chocolate cakes exists at all, much less ten minutes from me).

IMG_6602

  • I cleaned out the van tonight.  Just picking up trash and recycling, not even vacuuming.  Here are some of the items I found (after this, I didn’t even open the trunk):
    • parking stickers
    • Callie’s vet paperwork.  From April 2015.
    • Cheerios
    • an almond
    • special sticks
    • more Cheerios
    • a hair clip
    • special rocks
    • popcorn bits
    • more Cheerios
    • approximately 1 box worth of used tissues
    • granola bar wrappers
    • sand
    • Cheerios!
  • One of our children has been a particular pill, especially when tired (and therefore at bedtime).  I have been working really, REALLY hard at not blowing up at this kid.  Because most of this kid’s antics come from where?  Oh, you know–me, when I was a kid.  Karma, man.
  • Some great stuff I’ve been viewing / listening to:  The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde; The Fire Next Time by James Baldwin (holy smokes, that was powerful–and sad to think that not much has really changed in the intervening 50+ years since its publication); the Okee Dokee Brothers’ albums (my favorite is Can You Canoe?); Tina Fey doing Sarah Palin; Taylor Mali’s spoken-word poetry, my friend Jen’s blog about living with chronic Lyme.

And finally:  today while I drove home, hail pelted my windshield while sunny blue skies beckoned to the south, and on Tuesday, this appeared as I drove out of the parking lot (I pulled over to take the picture; don’t worry Dad).  For all my friends and family members who need a rainbow, I send this to you:

IMG_6631

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mary Belinsky permalink
    January 29, 2016 2:58 am

    Once again. Michelle, your writing made my day. Thanks for the smiles and the rainbow.

Leave a Reply

