Skip to content

Rainy Friday Musings

June 24, 2016
  • Why don’t my kids yawn when I do or when I read the word “yawn”?  When do yawns become contagious?
  • I am so grateful for my kids’ safety awareness when they ride their balance bikes or scooters with me almost a mile round-trip to get our CSA veggies.  They know to go slow on hills, especially hills that lead to busy streets; they know to stop at the corner, and I know they will never bolt into traffic.  They might not be good listeners all the time, but they are when it counts.
  • Why is it so hard to be motivated to exercise?  I like being active.  I like running and yoga.  It used to be guilt at time away from my kids.  It used to be choosing to accomplish other things on the to-do list.  Recently it just feels like my resistance can be summed up as:  “Meh.”  But some of my hiking and outdoor pants no longer fit, so I need to figure out a way to overcome the Meh.
  • I am also so grateful for our neighbors, who welcome our kids into their yards and homes, who accept being emergency authorized pick-up people for school, and who genuinely love and care for our whole family.
IMG_7349

She said I didn’t need to blur out her name. =)

  • Our kids got bikes with pedals for their birthday, and have been practicing riding bikes the past few weeks.  I think they will learn well before I did.  (I finally got it when I was 9 or 10.  I refused to let my dad help me, because I knew from other examples how that was going to work:  he’d promise not to let go, but then he would–as parents teaching their kids bike riding do–and I was terrified of that uncertainty.  I’d rather teach myself than trust someone else.  Oh, little Michelle…how much more you had to learn than riding a bike.)
  • My kids LOVE helping me cook, which is such a blessing.  Except when I’m trying to make something quickly, in which case it is not a blessing.  Cooking with three five-year-old helpers slows the process substantially.  But I do love that they see helping in the kitchen as fun and exciting.  I hope it leads to their love of food and love of making their own.
  • In picking up size 5T pajamas, I realized that I will soon be shopping for them in the Kid section rather than the Toddler section.  Had a little heart-squeeze.
The result when I asked them to take a picture with Nicole: one kid smiling, one kid kind-of smiling, and one kid in the background climbing a bench. Classic.

The result when I asked them to take a picture with Nicole: one kid smiling, one kid kind-of smiling, and one kid in the background climbing a bench. Classic.

One Comment leave one →
  1. rayaless permalink
    June 26, 2016 10:13 pm

    Love, love, love this Michelle! The photo of Jen and Jamie is priceless, as is Teresa’s new vet outfit and Audrey’s pilot gear! And what a special relationship you and Lisa share; dear neighbors, and dear surrogate family 🙂 Adam and I also echo Lisa’s amazement that they enter kindergarten next year; where does the time go???

Leave a Reply

